Recent Articles

Getting kids home from hospital sooner

Friday, 9th Jul 21

When a sick child is admitted to hospital, their absence is felt by the whole family at home.

Introducing Sydney Sick Kids Appeal

Friday, 14th May 21

Meet Lucas, this year’s patient ambassador for the Bob ‘Tug’ Wilson’s Walk for Kids with Cancer.

Lucas' 'minor setback for a major comeba...

Friday, 30th Apr 21

Meet Lucas, this year’s patient ambassador for the Bob ‘Tug’ Wilson’s Walk for Kids with Cancer.

1.5 million reasons to celebrate

Monday, 5th Apr 21

Our 32nd Bandaged Bear Appeal has raised $1,546,114.40 for sick and injured kids at The Children’s Hospital at Westmead.

It just clicked: Bandaged Bear the perfe...

Tuesday, 30th Mar 21

Students at OneSchool Global (Sydney Campus) loved raising funds for sick kids in the 2021 Bandaged Bear Appeal – and many had unexpected moments.

Join our 32nd Bandaged Bear Appeal

Monday, 22nd Feb 21

Our Bandaged Bear Appeal is so close, we can bear-ly wait! Join us on Bandaged Bear Day, Friday 26 February at a train station near you, to help celebrate the launch of our iconic fundraising appeal, that is on throughout March.

Lighting the way for sick kids

Sunday, 20th Dec 20

Our Light Up Xmas Appeal raises over $4.5m to help patients, families and the staff who care for them.

Sophia strides for cystic fibrosis

Friday, 11th Dec 20

Sophia's Fan Club is gearing up for the annual 65k for 65 Roses to help raise funds for the clinic she relies on the most.

WSFM hosts 12 Days of Giftmas

Monday, 23rd Nov 20

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas over at WSFM as today, as ambassadors Jonesy and Amanda launched the 12 days of Giftmas radio competition as part of our Light Up Xmas Appeal.

Isaac's fight for life

Tuesday, 10th Nov 20

When Sarah was 12-weeks into her pregnancy, her little boy Isaac was diagnosed with congenital diaphragmatic hernia (CDH), which compromised the growth of one of his lungs.

Help Light Up Xmas for sick kids

Monday, 9th Nov 20

Today marked a very special date in the Sydney Children’s Hospitals Foundation’s calendar - the official launch of our Light Up Xmas Appeal which aims to raise $3m to help sick kids across NSW receive the best possible care.

Pigeons and Popcorn help sick kids

Friday, 9th Oct 20

Luke Harper has achieved something only a few will achieve in a lifetime. At only 12 years of age, he has published his very first children’s book titled, Pigeons and Popcorn.

Hugo’s story

Wednesday, 23rd Sep 20

Seven-year-old Hugo was at school participating in a walkathon when all of a sudden he fell down to the ground and suffered a seizure.

Mum's running start for Metabolic Clinic

Monday, 21st Sep 20

Mum, Jessica Gowans, explains what life is like having two children with metabolic disorders and why she is set to participate in City2Surf's Virtual Run this year.

Melanie's personal Race for Grace

Tuesday, 15th Sep 20

Grace is a lifeline, not only for these tiny infants but for their parents and carers too. Registered Nurse, Melanie Jansons, knows first-hand just how important Grace is as she is not only on the front line caring for these babies, but it wasn’t too long ago that her own son was fighting for his life in NICU.

Team OT ready to take on virtual run

Wednesday, 9th Sep 20

The Occupational Therapy (OT) Department at The Children's Hospital at Westmead is ready to take on City2Surf's first-ever Virtual Run.

Simon Hickey, SCHF Deputy Chair, appoint...

Tuesday, 11th Aug 20

We are proud to announce that the Foundation’s Deputy Chair, Simon Hickey, has been appointed as CEO of the new international airport in Western Sydney.

Coles raises $310,000 for sick kids

Friday, 31st Jul 20

Shoppers raise vital funds thanks to $2 Curing Homesickness donation cards

Help is on the cards for sick kids

Wednesday, 15th Jul 20

Coles launch $2 Curing Homesickness Donation Cards to raise vital funds for sick kids in hospital.

Finding the silver lining

Sunday, 28th Jun 20

There’s an old saying that the worst times bring out the best in people – and 2020 has certainly given us the opportunity to find out this is indeed true.